Board Elections

2019 CoBank Director Election Results

CoBank’s stockholders elected the following individuals to the CoBank Board of Directors for terms commencing on January 1, 2020:

Mid Plains Region Stephen J. Epperson One-Year Term*
South Region Gary A. Miller Four-Year Term
West Region Edgar A. Terry Four-Year Term

*Special election to fill the remaining term of a vacant seat.

The 2019 director election process has now concluded for all regions except the Mid Plains Region.

Mid Plains Region – Runoff Election for the Modified Equity Seat

No candidate in the Mid Plains Region received a majority of votes cast for the Modified Equity Seat. Per our governance bylaws, the two candidates who received the most votes, Michael W. Marley and Chuck G. Tolle, will take part in a runoff election that will conclude on November 6, 2019. View CoBank's 2019 Mid Plains Region Runoff Election Brochure.

Election of 2020-21 Nominating Committee

CoBank’s stockholders also elected all 24 candidates presented on the 2020-21 Nominating Committee slate for a two-year term.  See the full list of the 2020-21 Nominating Committee members.

Board Election Process

As a cooperative, CoBank is governed by a board of directors elected by the customers we serve. Each year, a number of CoBank’s director positions are up for election. Incumbents and non-incumbents can be nominated to run, as long as they meet the requirements for election.

Nominating Procedures

An independent Nominating Committee, elected by the bank’s stockholders, reviews qualifications of all candidates whose names are submitted by stockholders and/or who submit applications on their own. This committee, which consists of customer representatives and past CoBank directors, identifies qualified candidates and reviews director nominations based on the board’s needs, helping to assure that we’ll continue to attract a highly qualified and diverse board. The Nominating Committee makes a best effort to recommend at least two candidates for each open position. Additional candidates may gather signatures for petitions to run for the board following the conclusion of the Nominating Committee’s work.

Candidate Eligibility

A nominee cannot be associated with a party to an adversely classified CoBank or Farm Credit System loan or lease unless he/she resigns or disaffiliates from such loan or lease party by the date the term of office is to begin. A nominee must not have reached age 70 on or prior to the date the term of office is to begin. In addition, the nominee cannot have a relative who is a current employee of CoBank. For elected positions, the nominee must be a resident of his/her region as of 30 days prior to the election. Stockholder affiliation is not a requirement for director candidates. All candidates must be willing to consent to a background check performed by an independent third party.

Voting Eligibility

All CoBank customers are invited to submit candidates to the Nominating Committee. To vote in the director election, an organization must hold voting stock in the bank and must have had an active CoBank loan within the past two years.

Yearly Election Calendar

Prospective board candidates must submit required materials to the Nominating Committee by the deadline date in March. The Nominating Committee recommends candidates for each open position by late May. Additional candidates may then gather signatures for petitions to run for the board. Election ballots are accepted for a 60-day period, with results announced in the fall and terms beginning January 1 of the following year.

CoBank Policy and Farm Credit Administration Regulations and Guidance